ICS 103

Inter-Departmental Committee for the Co-ordination of Plans for the Development of the Territories of Papua and New Guinea

SUMMARY GUIDE

Repository GB 101 Institute of Commonwealth Studies

Reference code ICS 103

Dates of creation of material 1947

Level of description Collection **Extent** 1 volume

Name of creator Australian Department of External Territories

Administrative history

Papua comprised the south-eastern portion of the island of New Guinea. The area was proclaimed a British Protectorate in 1884, and in 1888 a part of the British Empire, known as British New Guinea. Its government was carried on under the Secretary of State for the Colonies, with participation from New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria, until 1902. It was then placed under the authority of the Commonwealth of Australia, this control taking effect in 1906; its name was changed to the Territory of Papua at that date.

The north-eastern portion of New Guinea formed the protectorate of German New Guinea until its occupation by an Australian Expeditionary Force in 1914. It continued under military rule until 1920 when it was entrusted to the Commonwealth of Australia, effective from 1921. It was then named the Territory of New Guinea.

Both these territories were invaded and occupied by the Japanese in 1942. Following the end of the war, civil administration was gradually restored and by 1946 a provisional joint administration of the former separate territories was instituted, as the Territory of Papua-New Guinea. The intention was that this be a temporary arrangement pending the determination of future policy for the area. This led to the formation, by the Department of External Territories, of the Inter-Departmental Committee for the Co-ordination of Plans for the Development of the Territories of Papua and New Guinea in 1947.

The joint territory continued under Australian administration until 1973 when self-government was achieved, to be followed in 1975 by complete independence, as Papua New Guinea.

Archival history

The volume appears to have come to ICS from the Australian Library of Information at Australia House, London, possibly in 1996. The papers may have been the personal copies of JR Halligan, the Secretary of the Department of External Terrotories and chairman of the Committee.

Scope and content

Minutes of the first meeting of the Inter-Departmental Committeefor the Coordination of plans for the development of the Territories of Papua and New Guinea; together with background papers on the history and present administrative and economic state of the territories

System of arrangement There is only one volume in this accession

Access Open

Copyright/copying conditions Usual conditions

Language English

Finding aids A descriptive list is available in ICS Library

Related material elsewhere

A fuller set of papers of the Committee is available in the National Archives of Australia.

DESCRIPTIVE LIST

ICS 103/1 Papers concerning plans for the development of the 1947

territories of Papua and New Guinea

Minutes of the first meeting of the Committee, 29 Apr 1947, together with background papers: a historical summary of the territories and the devastation caused by the war; copies of legislation concerning the provisional administration; reports on rehabilitation of the native economy, and on previous committees; statements on military and civil administrations and on trusteeship; and copies of legislation on the South Pacific Agreement and the Australia-New Zealand Agreement.

1 volume